Pupils continue to strive for success

One of Laurelhill Community College's top GCSE acheivers Shannon Boyd and Mrs Boyd.
One of Laurelhill Community College's top GCSE acheivers Shannon Boyd and Mrs Boyd.

The Principals at Laurelhill Community College and Lisnagarvey have welcomed good GCSE results this year.

As hoards of anxious Lisnagarvey students descended upon their school to collect their A-Level last week and GCSE results on Thursday, one thing was very clear: their desire to achieve. This desire was not only fulfilled, but in many cases, surpassed.

In fact, 60% of A-Level students at Lisnagarvey achieved three A*-C this year – well above the national average. Meanwhile, 65% of GCSE students achieved 5 A*-C grades – also a figure that well exceeds the national average.

Mr Ed Fulton, Head of Senior school stated: “Our staff believes there is no ceiling on effort – where pupils and teachers are concerned.

“We do all we can to create an engaging and supportive learning environment, where pupils become self-motivated to surpass even their own expectations.”

This dedication from staff and pupils alike is clearly paying off, with A-Level students such as Courtney Willis and Rebecca Dunlop achieving three A grades and GCSE student Ross Jenkins achieved 2A*3A 2B 3C – and they are not alone - there are many more celebrating students at the school.

Principal, Mr J Sheerin commented: “Everything we do has our pupils’ achievement at its heart – through thoughtful and attentive pastoral care, engaging and purposeful teaching and learning and dogged determination, we aim to empower our pupils to be the very best they can be.”

Principal of Laurelhill Community College Mr James Martin said: “Congratulations to all our GCSE Pupils especially those who gained five or more GCSE’s at A* to C. Over 50% got a grade C or better in GCSE Maths and over 48% got grade C or better in GCSE English.

“100% of our students studying Music, Drama, Art and Photography achieved A* to C.

“We look forward to many pupils returning to 6th Form this incoming year.”