New Bridge pupils get their prizes at assembly

PUPILS at New Bridge College collected their prizes following the school’s recent prize day when young people were recognised for a range of academic, sporting, and extra-curricular achievements.

Academic excellence awards were presented to Megan McDermott, Alison McCullagh and Aoife Diamond (Year 8); Josh Morrison, Megan Rafferty and Sionna Micallef (Year 9); and Maria McAnearney, Caroline Andrews and Rachel Kitchen (Year 10).

Main academic subject awards for Year 11 were as follows: Art and Design, Laura Elliot; B.Tec, Thomas Kerr; Business Studies, Karen Johnston; Drama, Michaela Nash; English, Karen Johnston.

French, Rebecca Cossar; Geography, Karen Johnston; History, Alex McBurney; H.E. Child Development, Rebekah Houson; H.E. Food, Rebekah Houston; ICT, Rebecca Cossar; Literature, Michaela Nash; Mathematics, Karen Johnston.

Music (Faloon Trophy), Rebecca Wilson; Occupational Studies, Paula Morrow; Physical Education, Rachel Ryan and Adam Dennison; Religious Education, Rebekah Houston; Science, Karen Houston; Technology (Conn Shield), Alex Mitchell.

Individual awards for progress were also presented to a pupil from each year group, as nominated by a pastoral team: Katie Doyle (8 BY); Luca St Clair (8HN); Ross McEvoy (8MV).

Victoria Busby (9MK); Charlotte Adamson (9MN); Caoimhe Chambers (9TH); Leona Finnighan-Linkins (9WK).

Samuel Trimble (10KR); Catherine Simpson (10LN); Chloe Daly (10MG); Luke McClean (10TN).

Ursula McClatchey (11DL); Rachel Ryan (11HI); Kyle Shakesby (11)K); Owen Renshaw (11RS).

Glass Awards for Endeavour: Nikita Blackburn (Year 8); Emma-Rose McKeown (Year 9); Marsha Skillen (Year 10) and Robyn Mitchell (Year 11).

Individual Awards for Contribution to the Life of the College: Kurt Baines (8BY); Katie McArdle (8HN); Rachel Canniford (8MV).

Aaron Duggan (9MK); Luke Diamond (9MN); Claire McAnearney (9TH); Jade Dalzell (9WK).

Cherie Hamilton (10KR); Bobby Murray (10LN); Callum Barnes (10MG); Natasha Doyle (10TN).

Rebecca Wilson (11DL); Shannon McNeilly (11HI); Cathy-Marie Doyle (11OK); Chloe Black (11RS).

Individual awards for sporting achievement: Molly Taylor-Magoran and Thomas McKibben (Year 8); Katie Taylor-Magoran and Aaron Thompson (Year 9); Shenna McKiverigan and Curt Black (Year 10); and Chelsea Woods and Adam Salley (Year 11).

McGlynn Shield, awarded for the greatest contribution to the school community, Junior Award - Thomas Kerr. Adamson Award for Success in Adversity, Grainne O’Hare.

A number of pupils were also recognised for having 100 per cent attendance from September 1st,2010: Rachel Canniford, Anna Proctor, Jack Myles, Claire McAnearney, Jack Proctor, Chloe Burns, Josh Morrison, Hannah O’Hare, Maria McAnearney, Mark Campbell, Kyle Magowan, Suzanne Noble, Pearce Nicholl and Peter Staines.

Sands Memorial Shield presented by the Sands Family for Outstanding Contribution to the School, Senior Award: Caoimhe Devlin.