General Fiasco announce new album

FRESH from seeing the Olympic Torch arrive safely in Belfast and performing a free concert in front of City Hall in celebration of the event, General Fiasco have now confirmed details of a new single ‘Bad Habits’ and their second album due for this summer.

Thursday, 26th July 2012, 9:00 am

‘Unfaithfully Yours’ contains 12 tracks of classic pop, rock and infectious tunes including ‘The Age You Start Losing Friends’ which was picked up last year on Radio 1 as the ‘Hottest Record In The World’ and won ‘Best Song’ at the NI Music Awards.

Recorded with Rocky O’Reilly in Belfast earlier this year General Fiasco consist of Owen Strathern on bass and vocals, brother Enda on guitar, Stephen Leacock on drums and new guitarist / keyboard player Stuart Bell.

The older cousin of its predecessor; and with maturity comes a share of experiences good and bad. If it could have been argued that ‘Buildings’ appeared at the outset at least, to be a sprightly, youthful, teenage disco of a record although perhaps that darker edge was always bubbling under, then ‘Unfaithfully Yours’ is most definitely about what comes next, when the party’s over and everyone has gone home and you are just left with your own thoughts and an awful lot of cleaning up to do.

A brilliantly crafted, cynical and yet heartfelt record about frustration, disappointment and the drive to push on when you feel like giving in. With almost art imitating life imitating art. An album that it might be almost bitter-sweet to say, is sadly wise beyond its years - a record that has an awful lot of living and learning in it for one made by men so young.

Having already completing two UK tours this year more dates are being planned for later in the year.