Philip Mallon tops the Golfer Of The Year points table

We are more than halfway through the 2013 summer golfing season.

There are eight major Saturday competitions remaining plus seven Thursday Opens.

There are still a lot of points to be played for in the Golfer of the Year order of merit.

Just prior to Captain’s Day, the leading contenders were as follows:

Philip Mallon 787 points. Paul Downey 699. Rory Madeley 667. Colin McKinney 616. William Malcolmson 614.

Patrick Magennis 612. Albert Morrison 603. Jonathan Brush 590. Kerry McCluskey 577.

Andrew Quinn 574. Glenn Buchanan 556. Luke Woods 522. John J Lennon 521. Brian Boyd 512. Callum Barnes 512. Gary McCartney 494. Joshua Crory 484. Declan Dooher 467. Dennis Watt 460. John Gallagher 458. Damian Weir 456. Cathal O’Neill 456. Garreth Moody 444. Nigel Bryson 443. Seamus Rooney 439. Michael Beattie 424.

Kieran Magennis 416. Barry Casey 405. Eugene Weir 402.

There will be plenty of changes before the season ends but the winner will almost certainly come from the aforementioned group.

- The Juvenile Golfer of The Year competition will continue until Juveniles Day on Sunday September 1st.

The situation at present is as follows:

Gary McConville leads the senior section (white blocks) with 12 points. Jamie Thompson has 10 points and Callum Barnes has 9.

Conor McCullough leads the junior section (yellow blocks) with 11 points. Matthew Doyle has 9 points and Jamie Ewing has 8.

The next four Wednesday Sweeps will decide the issue.