£80k windfall for council to go green

BANBRIDGE council building is being encouraged to ‘go green’ as £80,000 funding is released to improve energy effiiciency.

Local councils businesses in the East Border Region are being encouraged to go green as £850,000 energy efficiency and micro-generation project was unveiled by the East Border Region Cross Border Group.

The £850,000 energy efficiency and micro-generation campaign is a three-year project which has been funded through the European Union’s INTERREG IVA Programme.

This will enable councils to make informed decisions on the most cost effective ways to reduce their carbon footprint and save on already limited resources.

Twenty buildings from areas that fall under the East Border Region were narrowed down to a final nine. These buildings including the civic offices in Banbridge will receive up to £80,000 of funding,as well as the Palace Armagh and Craigavon Civic centre.

Jackie Crow, chair of the East Border Region group said, “The nine finalists are ‘exemplars’ and will be rewarded up to £80,000 each to install various technology products to become more cost effective and reduce reliance on fossil fuels.

“We have selected a mix of buildings and beautiful listed properties and over a period of time we aim to demonstrate the benefits of energy efficiency and how local businesses could save up to 25 per cent a year on their annual bills.

“Banbridge Civic offices have a prominent position in the town. We will trial the replacement of inefficient lighting technology combined with improvements in thermal insulation to show the benefits of improving thermal performance and lighting.”

Joseph Birt, Co Chair of EEMG Steering Group said, “The use of technology will enable our project partners at Dundalk Institute of Technology to assess a before and after scenario where we can clearly demonstrate the huge benefits and savings that renewable energy offers.

“These ‘exemplar’ buildings will not only showcase the latest technologies in this field but also act as a benchmark for others to follow to create a more sustainable future for the whole of Ireland.”

The East Border Region comprises of ten local authorities including; Newry and Mourne, Down and Banbridge District Councils, Armagh City and District Council, Craigavon, Ards and North Down Borough Councils as well as Louth, Monaghan and Meath County Councils in the Republic of Ireland.

The information from this project will be issued quarterly, with unrestricted access, to the public, business, the construction sector and the wider environmental community via www.sustainandbuild.com.